Events

    • Wednesday, December 11, 2019
    • 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
    • The Drake Hotel, 2301 York Rd., Oak Brook IL 60523
    • 70
    Register

    IRELA Holiday Party 

    Wednesday, December 11, 2019

    5:00 PM to 8:00 PM

    The Drake Hotel
    2301 York Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523


    Presentation Overview: Civility: Difficult People and Conversations in the Workplace  - MCLE approved for 1 hour professional responsibility credit

    Difficult people are everywhere. However, when they exist in the workspace, in the courts, and the clients with whom we work, it can create major issues which influence personal health and wellness. The legal field can be a very stressful work setting and adding hostile persons to the work environment can make it feel impossible to cope. This program will support attorneys, judges and law students in understanding the psychological, physical, and emotional impact of dealing with difficult people at work. Additionally, providing helpful skill sets to manage and minimize the negative impact these people and conversations have on us will also be provided. This presentation will provide skills and behaviors which will help you feel more empowered and in control while working with difficult people or engaging in difficult conversations.

    Participants in this program will learn the following:

    • Understand the impact working with difficult people and engaging in difficult conversations can have on those in the legal profession;
    • Understand that dealing with difficult people and situations can increase mental health problems and negative coping mechanisms;
    • Learn how to minimize behaviors which create more problems in dealing with difficult people and conversations;
    • Learn how to increase behaviors which place boundaries and limits on difficult people and difficult conversations and;
    • Learn skills to help manage difficult people and engage in difficult conversations more effectively.


    Dr. Diana Uchiyama, JD, PsyD
    Executive Director
    Lawyers’ Assistance Program

    Dr. Diana Uchiyama is the Executive Director of the Illinois Lawyers’ Assistance Program (LAP). Prior to joining LAP, she was the Administrator of Psychological Services for DuPage County where she oversaw a DASA licensed outpatient substance use treatment program, including a Mentally Ill Substance Abuse (MISA program) and Seeking Safety program for individuals with substance use problems, who were also trauma survivors. While at DuPage County she also ran a 26 week Domestic Batterer Intervention Program for a court mandated population of clients.

    Dr. Uchiyama has also worked for the Kane County Diagnostic Center, as both a Staff Psychologist and Juvenile Drug Court Coordinator, and has an extensive background doing court ordered evaluations including psychological, sanity, fitness, fitness to parent, and sex offender evaluations. She is a licensed sex offender evaluator in the State of Illinois. Dr. Uchiyama also conducts therapy with adults and adolescents. She has implemented numerous changes to court ordered programs both in Kane and DuPage County and is a SAMSHA certified trauma informed care trainer. She also has an Advanced Mindfulness Training Certificate in an effort to increase wellbeing among her clients.

    Prior to obtaining her masters and doctorate in Clinical Psychology, Dr. Uchiyama was an Assistant Public Defender in Cook County working in various felony courtrooms at 26th and California in Chicago for over a decade. She obtained her law degree from Pepperdine University School of Law.


    Registration required, seats are limited.
    MCLE approved for 1 hour professional responsibility credit

    MCLE: IRELA members will receive one (1) hour of credit, at no cost.
    Non-members registration is $50 and includes MCLE credit.


Past events

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 WEBINAR - Wire Fraud, Hitmen and the DOJ – Taking down an international cyber fraud syndicate
Tuesday, October 08, 2019 WEBINAR - Preventing Wire Fraud – Trends and Strategies
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 WEBINAR - Five Marketing and Branding Tips that are Guaranteed to Drive Results for Your Real Estate Practice
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 WEBINAR - The Future of Your Real Estate Practice: Challenges and Opportunities
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 The Future of Your Real Estate Practice: Challenges and Opportunities
Wednesday, May 08, 2019 WEBINAR - Asking & Answering: The Best Way to Handle Attorney Review & Inspection Requests Under the Multi-Board 7.0
Wednesday, May 08, 2019 Asking & Answering: The Best Way to Handle Attorney Review & Inspection Requests Under the Multi-Board 7.0 | May Meeting | Oak Brook
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 WEBINAR - Illinois Title Insurance Act Amendments
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 Illinois Title Insurance Act Amendments - April Monthly Meeting | Oak Brook
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 WEBINAR - Recorder's Use of Blockchain and Orders Declaring Heirship | WEBINAR
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 Recorder's Use of Blockchain and Orders Declaring Heirship - March Monthly Meeting | Oak Brook
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 WEBINAR - Possible Judgments - February Monthly Meeting | WEBINAR
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 Possible Judgments - February Monthly Meeting | Oak Brook
Thursday, February 07, 2019 Multi-Board 7.0 - Chicago - Feb 7th
Tuesday, February 05, 2019 Multi-Board 7.0 - Chicago - Feb 5th
Thursday, January 24, 2019 Multi-Board 7.0 - Crystal Lake
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 Multi-Board 7.0 - Libertyville
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 Multi-Board 7.0 - Oak Lawn
Monday, January 14, 2019 Multi-Board 7.0 - McHenry
Wednesday, January 09, 2019 Annual Meeting | Multi-Board 7.0 - Elk Grove
Tuesday, December 04, 2018 Holiday Party in Oak Brook on Tues., Dec. 4th
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Meeting at DoubleTree in Downers Grove
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 Meeting at Public Library in Oak Lawn
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Meeting at Belvedere Banquets in Elk Grove
Wednesday, August 08, 2018 Meeting at Maggiano's in Oak Brook
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 Special Town Hall at Max & Benny's in Northbrook
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 Special Town Hall at the DuPage County Bar Association in Wheaton
Wednesday, May 09, 2018 Special Town Hall at the Oak Lawn Public Library
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 IRELA – Special Meeting with John Lartz of IDFPR on Proposed Title Insurance Agent Compensation
Thursday, March 08, 2018 IRELA – Lawyers Rock!
Monday, March 05, 2018 IRELA – IDFPR 2nd Town Hall Meeting on Title Insurance Agent Compensation
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, January 03, 2018 IDFPR Town Hall Meeting on Title Insurance Agent Compensation
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 IRELA Meeting
Thursday, November 09, 2017 IRELA Co-Sponsored an Event with ATG
Wednesday, November 08, 2017 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, November 08, 2017 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 IRELA Meeting
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 IRELA Meeting

© 2019 by the Illinois Real Estate Lawyers Association. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software